

E-mail: comsec@teignbridge.gov.uk

15 May 2023

ANNUAL COUNCIL

Annual Council will be held on Tuesday, 23rd May, 2023 in the Council Chamber, Forde House, Brunel Road, Newton Abbot, TQ12 4XX at 10.00 am

PHIL SHEARS Managing Director

Membership:

Councillors Atkins, Bradford, Bullivant, Buscombe, Clarance (Vice-Chair), D Cox, H Cox, Daws, Dawson, Farrand-Rogers, Foden, Gearon, Goodman-Bradbury, Hall, Hayes, Henderson, Hook, Jackman, James, Jeffries, Keeling, Lake, MacGregor, Morgan, Mullone, Nutley, Nuttall (Chair), Palethorpe, C Parker, P Parker, Parrott, Peart, Purser, Radford, Rogers, Rollason, Ryan, Sanders, Smith, Steemson, Swain, G Taylor, J Taylor, Thorne, Webster, Williams and Wrigley

Please Note: The public can view the live streaming of the meeting at Teignbridge
District Council Webcasting (public-i.tv) with the exception where there are confidential or exempt items, which may need to be considered in the absence of the press and public.

<u>AGENDA</u>

Part I

8. Committee Appointment and Political Balance (Pages 3 - 6)

9. **Outside Bodies** (Pages 7 - 10)

If you would like this information in another format, please telephone 01626 361101 or e-mail info@teignbridge.gov.uk



Annual Council Committee Seat Allocations for 2023-2024

Permitted allocation to political groups

Committee	No. of Members on the committee
Overview & Scrutiny Committee (1)	13
Overview & Scrutiny Committee (2)	13
Planning Committee	17
Licensing Committee	11
Audit Scrutiny Committee	8
Standards Committee	6
Strata Scrutiny	3

Group nominations:

Overview and Scrutiny 1 (13 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(8 Seats)	(3 Seats)	(2 Seats)
1. Cllr Swain	1. Clir Mullone	1. Cllr Atkins
2. Cllr Parrott	2. Cllr Ryan	2. Cllr Thorne
3. Cllr Henderson	3. Cllr Gearon	
4. Cllr C Parker		
5. Cllr Palethorpe		
6. Cllr Hayes		
7. Cllr James		
8. Cllr D Cox		

Overview and Scrutiny 2 (13 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(8 Seats)	(2 Seats)	(3 Seats)
1. Cllr Rollason	1. Clir Hall	1. Cllr Bullivant
2. Cllr Buscombe	2. Cllr P Parker	2. Cllr Peart
3. Cllr Swain		3. Cllr Purser
4. Cllr Parrott		
5. Cllr Henderson		
6. Cllr C Parker		
7. Cllr Palethorpe		
8. Cllr Hayes		

Planning Committee – 17 Seats

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(10 Seats)	(4 Seats)	(3 Seats)
1. Cllr Goodman-Bradbury	1. Cllr Hall	1. Cllr Atkins
2. Cllr Parrott	2. Cllr Macgregor	2. Cllr Bullivant
3. Cllr Williams	3. Cllr J Taylor	3. Cllr Purser
4. Cllr Nutley	4. Cllr Bradford	
5. Cllr C Parker		
6. Cllr Palethorpe		
7. Cllr Sanders		
8. Cllr Farrand-Rogers		
9. Cllr Hook		
10. Cllr D Cox		
	Substitutes	
Cllr Wrigley	Cllr P Parker	
Clir Clarance	Cllr Ryan	
	Cllr Gearon	

Licensing and Regulatory (11 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(7 Seats)	(2 Seats)	(2 Seats)
1. Cllr Henderson	1. Cllr Bradford	1. Cllr Atkins
2. Cllr Hayes	2. Cllr Gearon	2. Cllr Peart
3. Cllr Jackman		
4. Cllr Foden		
5. Cllr Dawson		
6. Cllr Rollason		
7. Cllr Sanders		
	Substitutes	
	Cllr Radford	
	Cllr Ryan	

Audit Scrutiny (8 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(4 Seats)	(2 Seats)	(2 Seats)
1. Cllr Williams	1. Cllr Radford	1. Cllr Thorne
2. Cllr Morgan	2. Cllr J Taylor	2. Cllr Purser
3. Cllr Jackman		
4. Cllr Sanders		

Standards (6 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(3 Seats)	(2 Seats)	(1 Seats)
1. Cllr Henderson	1. Cllr Macgregor	1. Cllr Bullivant
2. Cllr Swain	2. Cllr J Taylor	
3. Cllr Nutley		

Strata Scrutiny (3 Seats)

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance	Conservative
(1 Seat)	(1 Seat)	(1 Seat)
1. Cllr Clarence	1. Cllr Radford	1. Cllr Peart

Not politically balanced:-

Procedures (11 Seats)

(Chair of Council to be Chair of Committee)

All group leaders. 2 Members from each group over 10% of all Councillors

Liberal Democrats	South Devon Alliance Conservative	
Group Leader plus two other members	Group Leader plus two other members	Group Leader plus two other members
1. Cllr Wrigley	1. Cllr Daws	1. Cllr Bullivant
2. Cllr Keeling	2. Cllr Macgregor	2. Cllr Thorne
3. Cllr H Cox	3. Cllr Ryan	3. Cllr

APPOINTMENT TO OUTSIDE BODIES 2023/27 - APPENDIX

KEY

PH – Portfolio Holder

AIC – Any interested Councillor

PH/AIC – Offered to Portfolio Holders in the first instance, then any interested Councillor.

Outside Organisation	No. of Places	Council Approved Representatives	Num ber of Meeti ngs per Annu m	Tra velli ng Exp ens es	
Connecting Devon and Somerset Board	1	AIC	TB	С	Yes
Dartmoor National Park Authority	2	Cllr Nuttall (LD) Ward Members Cllr Nutley (LD) Cllr Morgan (LD)	25 (1 A	AGM)	Yes
Dartmoor National Park Community Forum	2	Ward Members	12	<u> </u>	Yes
Dartmoor National Park Site Inspections	2	Chair or Vice Chair of Planning and 2 Ward reps	25 (1 A	•	Yes
Devon Authorities Strategic Waste Committee	1	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder Recycling, Household Waste and Environmental Health Plus a Reserve Clir Nuttall (LD)	3		Yes
Devon Building Control Partnership	2	PH/AIC/Chair of Planning Portfolio Holder for Planning Cllr G Taylor (LD) Cllr Palethorpe (LD)	4		Yes
Devon Playing Fields Association	1	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder for Sport, Recreation & Culture Clir Nutley (LD)	4		Yes
Devon Rail Forum Exe Estuary Management Partnership	1	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder for Sport,	3		Yes

		Recreation &		
		Culture		
		Cllr Nuttall (LD)		
Heart of SW Coastal		PH		
Productivity Plan-Coastal		Portfolio Holder		
Sponsoring Group		Economy &		
oponsoning Group		Jobs		
		0003		
Local Government	1	Leader	2	Yes
Association		Cllr Keeling (LD)		
Local Government	1	PH	4	Yes
Association Coastal		Portfolio Holder		
Special Interest Group		for Climate		
		Change, Coastal		
		& Flood Risk		
		Management		
Local Government	1	Leader	2	Yes
Association District				
Councils' Network				
Assembly		DLI/AIO		\\
Newton Abbot Community	1	PH/AIC	6	Yes
Interest Company		Portfolio Holder		
		for Homes, Communities, IT		
		and cost of		
		living crisis		
		Cllr Wrigley (LD)		
PATROL (Parking and	1	PH	1	Yes
Traffic Regulations	•	Portfolio Holder	•	
Outside London)		for Economy &		
,		Jobs		
Police and Crime Panel	1	Deputy Leader	TBC	Yes
		(Cllr Goodman-		
		Bradbury (LD)		
South East Habitats	1	PH	4	Yes
Mitigation Executive		Portfolio Holder		
Committee		for Homes,		
		Communities, IT		
		and cost of		
		living crisis		
O - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 - 1 -		Cllr Wrigley (LD)		\\
South West Councils	1	Leader	2	Yes
South West Provincial	1	Cllr Wrigley (LD) Leader	2	Yes
South West Provincial Council	I	Leauei	۷	res
Stover Canal Trust	1	PH/AIC	2	Yes
Stover Carrai Trust	'	Portfolio Holder	2	103
		for Planning		
		Cllr Buscombe		
		(LD)		
		()		

		Cllr Buscombe (LD)		
Teign Estuary & Coastal Partnership	2	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder Climate Change Coastal & Flood Risk Management Cllr Hook (LD) Cllr D Cox (LD)		Yes
Teignbridge Citizens Advice Bureau	2	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder for Homes, Communities, IT and cost of living crisis Cllr Goodman- Bradbury (LD)	3	Yes
Teignbridge Highways and Traffic Orders Committee (HATOC)	3	AIC Cllr G Taylor (LD) Cllr Hook (LD) Cllr H Cox (LD)	3	Yes
Teignbridge Locality (County) Committee	2	AIC	3	Yes
Teignmouth Town Centre Partnership	2	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder for Economy & Jobs Clir Jefferies (LD) Clir Nuttall (LD)	4	Yes
Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust	1	PH/AIC Portfolio Holder for Homes, Communities, IT and cost of living crisis Cllr Nutley (LD)	4	Yes

23 May 2023

